A+ Indefinite Hold

I recently finished my IT Hardware Essentials class at my local community college and was anxiously awaiting for a voucher discount link to appear on my Cisco Network Academy student page. After several days of waiting, I finally called Cisco Network Academy support to find out what was going on. I was surprised to learn that the program by which Cisco provided discount coupons for the CompTIA A+ exams had been discontinued over a year ago and that the Cisco document I had read on this was outdated. Bottom line is that I am not getting any voucher discounts. As I stated in my previous post, at $338 I would skip the A+ and focus on other certifications. At $144, it was a good deal but I just cannot justify the regular price as a network guy. I had hoped to take the exams in the next 7 days or so. However, A+ studies have been terminated and sitting for those exams is on indefinite hold for me. If I am able to get vouchers in the future that are at least 50% off the regular price, I may pick them up and take the exams. Otherwise, I’l forgo getting the A+ certification. The only reason it was ever on the radar was because of the class and the discounts.

Leave a Reply

