Security+ April 19th, 2012

After passing the Network+ exam it is time to move my attention to studying for the CompTIA Security+ exam. I have been attending a Network Security class at the local community college and we have completed 7 chapters thus far in Mark Ciampa’s Security+ Guide to Network Security Fundamentals, 4th Edition book. However, I wanted to augment my knowledge by using additional material that is more along the line of a exam study guide. After doing some reading on the forums at techexams.net I decided to purchase Darril Gibson’s CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-301 Study Guide e-book from Amazon.com. It is only $9.99 for the Kindle vesion. You can find links to both books on the “Books I bought” tab above. I completed the introduction chapter last night and it mentioned some audio files and an iOS application with flashcards and practice questions and I purchased all of that material as well. After the introduction there was a 100 question assessment to take. I took the assessment and scored 77% which feels pretty good because it lets me know that I know quite a bit already but still have more to learn. Lastly, Darril mentions in the introduction that setting a goal is important and I agree. He states that you should plan to take the exam 45 days from when you start. I’ve marked April 19th on my calendar and plan to complete my Security+ studies and take the exam on that date.

Leave a Reply

