Test Day – Final Prep

I used yesterday as my final prep day for the Network+ exam today. I started around 10 am and finished about 1:30 am. I took an hour break around 5pm and a couple hour break around 10pm. Throughout the day I checked out some networking forums and jotted down some topics that people stated were covered on the test and that I felt I could use more review on. The Network+ study guide I used (Todd Lammle’s) had 20 review questions at the end of each chapter. I completed those as I went along and yesterday morning I combined them all into one document. I then unbolded the correct answers to use as my final practice test. In the evening, I took the test which consisted of 400 multiple choice questions and scored 93.96% correct. I missed more questions than I would have liked in chapters 4 and 13 so I added that to my review list.

My review list ended up looking like this:

1. Port Numbers
2. Circuit Switched vs. Packet Switched
3. Cable Types
4. WAN speeds
5. 568 A/B Wire Colors
6. Re-Read Chapter 4
7. Re-Read Chapter 13
8. Read Glossary

So I later last night and read the glossary and re-read chapters 4 and 13. Throughout the day and into the evening my stress level seemed to increase. I had trouble getting to sleep and woke up at 8:30am even though I wanted to sleep until 10:00am. I’ve had a sick feeling in my stomach all morning and the test is a couple of hours away. I’m not sure if this is nerves or perhaps I really am not feeling well. In either case, nothing I can do about it now. I read somewhere about not cramming to much the day of the test so I’ve been trying to relax today and just do light review. For example, I read my answers to all end of chapter written labs a little while ago. Yesterday, I also watched some parts of some of the Professor Messer videos but found the pacing slower than I needed at the time so I would not even consider that part of my prep.

It’s about time to go hit the shower, get dressed, and start making my way to the testing center which is about a 30 minute drive from here. I’ll post my results (pass or fail) later today/evening. I’m feeling fairly confident and I hope by efforts are rewarded by a good score.

Leave a Reply

